jump to navigation

2008 sees increase in number of Iraqi refugees allowed into the United States September 27, 2008

Posted by Aaron Walter in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

The below story highlights the efforts of many within our government and numerous groups outside of it to increase the number of Iraqis granted visas to enter the United States. While there is hope for the future Iraq, the war has obviously displaced or negatively affected thousands of Iraqis. During the 2007 fiscal year, only 1,600 Iraqis were allowed to enter the United States. However, the administration is on pace to allow 12,000 Iraqis into the US during the 2008 fiscal year and is looking towards allowing 17,000 to enter in 2009.

Additionally, The Department of Homeland Security has released a “fact sheet” concerning Iraqi Refugee Processing highlighting the process for ressetlement and the 12,118 Iraqis that have been admitted to the United States as refugees in 2008.

If you would like to learn more about the subject of Iraqi refugees, I invite you to visit The List Project to Resettle Iraqi Allies. The non-partisan organization is dedicated to assisting Iraqi refugees, especially those forced from their home country due to their affiliation with the United States (for example – Iraqi’s who assisted US troops as translators). The List Project reports that some Iraqi’s have been targeted by various terrorist organizations as US collaborators, placing their entire family’s lives in jeopardy.  Their goal is to promote policies encouraging approval of US visas for worthy “refugees,” and provide localized assistance to resettled Iraqis.

U.S. reached goal for admissions
SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2008
The Bush administration under intense pressure at home and around the world this year will meet its goal of allowing 12,000 Iraqi refugees into the United States. That is a considerable improvement over the 1,600 displaced Iraqis allowed into the country in the 2007 fiscal year.
Having met the objective this fiscal year, the administration is looking to raise the goal to 17,000 in the 2009 fiscal year, which begins Oct. 1. The increase, though, falls well short of the 105,000 that some advocacy groups had been seeking.

The groups said in a statement that the U.S. response to the refugee crisis “is incommensurate with the scope of the need.”

The administration has been widely criticized for failing to do more for the nearly 2 million Iraqis who have fled their country to avoid the ethnic and sectarian violence and religious persecution. They also include several thousand Iraqis fearing retaliation for working for the U.S. government or contractors. Most of the refugees are in Syria, Jordan, Turkey, Lebanon and Egypt.

The figures do not include internally displaced Iraqis.

To achieve this year’s objective, the administration has streamlined the admissions process that was hampered by differences within the state and homeland security departments. The application process can now begin in Baghdad.

The administration has doubled to $318 million the assistance it provides to other countries hosting Iraqis in refugee camps until they can return to their own country or resettle in other nations. The Bush administration has made some progress in meeting America’s responsibilities, but more can be done.

Read the entire article in context at: http://www.watertowndailytimes.com/article/20080914/OPINION01/309149942/Iraqi+refugees

Comments»

1. abdulrazaq aljobori - October 16, 2008

dear sir/lady
THIS IS DISTRESS CALL TO YOUR ORGANIZATION/TO ALL HUMANITARAIN ORGANIZATIONS
iam one from iraqi refugees in jordan,want writing to you ,may be will hear to my complaint ,iam wa s applied my applcation into unhrc her in jordan since 14/03/1999, now this file number 199-99C00940 .
and to now this office didnt give me legal refuge feature , although all longe this time from 1998 to now 2008 didnt retuned to iraq never, that is mean my life in danger ,you is known what is mean this live her in jordan. it is very diffecult alike slow death to iraqi persone, with out work ,without legal residense. hope you will help me, will find to me any solution to my problem to can get on legal refugefeature and get on resettelemnet. and will tell you all details if you ask for interview me .this is part of my story,hope you or ur organization can help me for give me new chance to my life am now live alife like slow death hope hear from you soon. wait your reply on this contacts
abdulrazaq1973@yahoo.com
number mobile 00962795670165
p.o.box 246 amman 11118 jordan
your sincerly
abdulrazaq aljobori

2. suhair - January 9, 2009

I am an Iraqi senior physician, I have a board certificate in medicine (histopathology and cytopathology). As a female doctor and a Sunni Muslim ,I have received many threatening to my life as well as my family by Almahdy Militia. This terrorist group has kidnapped my husband for a period of time and we have to pay a large amount of money in order for him to be released and to return safely to his family.

On March 28th, 2008 I have received a terrible and clear threatening indicating that the Almahdy Militia would kidnap my youngest son ZANE ETHAN ZIAD because he is an American citizen. Zane was born on March 2007 in United States. Due to this hard and difficult situation, I had to leave Iraq immediately with my family and flee to Syria wish is the only country I could enter with my family.

For that specific reason and due to the current unsecure situation in Iraq, I had to leave house ,my work , my savings and everything behind back home.

My son did not qualify for any medical assistance including his regular vaccinations since he is an American Citizen and should be covered under medical programs in the US.

I have been here in Syria for more than 6 months now but no one has called me for resettlement from the UNHCR.

I have nothing (and I mean nothing at all) left for me to survive and support my family in Syria now .

I do not what to do ? should I go back to Iraq with the risk of kidnapping my son ( cause he is an american) and apply from there for resettlment ? what should I do? can someone answer my question in this universe!!!!


Leave a Reply

